This conference is for you if...

  • You are autistic or know someone who is

  • You are a teacher in a mainstream or SEN setting

  • You are a parent learning about your neurodivergent child

  • You are a professional keen to continue your learning

  • You'd like to hear more from autistic speakers

  • You want to learn from experts from all over the world

  • You would like the most up-to-date thinking on autism

  • You have read some books, but need to know more

Conference Programme

22nd-27th March 2021

  • 2

    Mon 22nd: Day 1 - Autistic Wellbeing

    • Welcome Survey

    • LIVE TALK - Top Techniques for Sensory Wellbeing, with Sue Larkey (10am UTC, 10am GMT, 9pm AEDT, 6am EST, 3am PST)

    • Supporting Autistic Children in Times of Uncertainty, with Raelene Dundon - part 1

    • Supporting Autistic Children in Times of Uncertainty, with Raelene Dundon - Part 2

    • Self-Care for Adults on the Spectrum, with Barb Cook - Part 1

    • Self-Care for Adults on the Spectrum, with Barb Cook - Part 2

    • Exploring Depression and Beating the Blues - with Dr Tony Attwood and Dr Michelle Garnett

    • How to Integrate Self-Regulation Strategies into Daily Life, with Lauren Brukner - Part 1

    • How to Integrate Self-Regulation Strategies into Daily Life, with Lauren Brukner - Part 2

  • 3

    Tues 23rd: Day 2 - Diagnosis and Beyond

    • Explaining a Child's Autism Diagnosis in a Positive and Empowering Way, with Dr Gloria Dura-Vila - Part 1

    • Explaining a Child's Autism Diagnosis in a Positive and Empowering Way, with Dr Gloria Dura-Vila - Part 2

    • Masking, Camouflaging and Late Diagnosis, with Barb Cook and Kate Ross - Part 1

    • Masking, Camouflaging and Late Diagnosis, with Barb Cook and Kate Ross - Part 2

    • Masking, Camouflaging and Late Diagnosis, with Barb Cook and Kate Ross - Part 3

    • Autism Misdiagnosis and Mental Health- with Dr Judy Eaton

    • The Ice-Cream Sundae Guide to Autism - with Debby Elley and Tori Houghton

    • Build your own Autism Ice-Cream Sundae

    • PDA in Children, with Raelene Dundon - Part 1

    • PDA in Children, with Raelene Dundon - Part 2

  • 4

    Wed 24th: Day 3 - Awesomely Autistic

    • LIVE TALK - The Magic of Intense Interests, with Pete Wharmby (1pm UTC, 1pm GMT, 12am AEDT, 9am EST, 6am PST)

    • An Insider's Perspective on the PDA Profile: Advice for Parents and Teachers, with Harry Thompson - Part 1

    • The PDA Profile Quiz

    • An Insider's Perspective on the PDA Profile: Advice for Parents and Teachers, with Harry Thompson - Part 2

    • Neurodiversity in the Workplace, with Haley Moss

    • 'M' and the Power of Realistic Representation of Autism, with Vicky Martin and Sarah Wild

    • Talking about Periods - with Robyn Steward

  • 5

    Thurs 25th: Day 4 - Intersectionality and Autism

    • Intersectionality and Perceptions of Autism with Arianne Garcia - Part 1

    • Intersectionality Discussion

    • Intersectionality and Perceptions of Autism with Arianne Garcia - Part 2

    • Autism and Gender, with Yenn Purkis, Wenn Lawson and Maxfield Sparrow - Part 1

      FREE PREVIEW
    • Autism and Gender, with Yenn Purkis, Wenn Lawson and Maxfield Sparrow - Part 2

    • Culture, Ethnicity and Autism, with Dr Prithvi Perepa and Nura Aabe - Part 1

    • Culture, Ethnicity and Autism, with Dr Prithvi Perepa and Nura Aabe - Part 2

    • Culture, Ethnicity and Autism, with Dr Prithvi Perepa and Nura Aabe - Part 3

  • 6

    Fri 26th: Day 5 - Work and School

    • LIVE TALK - Mastering Social Situations at School, with Joel Shaul (7:30pm UTC, 7:30pm GMT, 6:30m AEDT, 3:30pm EST, 12:30am PST)

    • Autism-Friendly Self-Employment - with Robyn Steward

    • Teaching Yoga to Autistic Children in a Mainstream Setting, with Michael Chissick

    • School Avoidance, with Suzy Rowland - Part 1

    • School Avoidance, with Suzy Rowland - Part 2

    • Educational Inclusion: What Can We Learn from Autistic Teachers? with Dr Rebecca Wood

  • 7

    Sat 27th: Day 6 - Kids and Parents Day!

    • The (Secret) Social Rules, with Jennifer Cook - Part 1

    • The (Secret) Social Rules, with Jennifer Cook - Part 2

    • Reading of 'All Cats are on the Autism Spectrum', with Kathy Hoopmann

    • Having Fun with Feelings, with Tony Attwood and Michelle Garnett

FAQs

  • What is Connected by Autism?

    Connected by Autism is the first online conference from JKP. Across 6 days of videos and presentations we hope to create an accessible space for learning, understanding and discussion.

  • Who are the speakers?

    The speakers are all JKP authors or contributors, and include: Jennifer Cook, Hayley Moss, Tony Attwood, Michelle Garnett, Gloria Dura Vila, Barb Cook, Kate Ross, Lauren Brukner, Judy Eaton, Prithvi Perepa, Nura Aabe, Arianne Garcia, Harry Thompson, Yenn Purkis, Michael Chissick, Raelene Dundon and Debby Elley, with more still to be announced.

  • Where and When?

    This conference is available globally and is entirely online. Videos will be released on their scheduled day between 22nd-27th March at 12:01am UTC, but will be available for ticket holders to view for 30 days afterwards.

  • How much does it cost?

    Tickets are £45, and you can enjoy £10 off until 22nd Feb by using the code EARLYBIRD at the checkout. Please note this discount is not applied automatically, you have to enter the code into the box when prompted.

  • More questions?

    You can reach us at hello@jkp.com for any further questions, and we'll get back to you as soon as possible. Thank you!